Rhubaba Gallery and Studios is an artist-run organisation in Edinburgh with annual programme of exhibitions and events. Established in 2009 in response to a gap in appropriate studio provision for recent graduates and through the desire to create a space dedicated to both the production and presentation of contemporary art, Rhubaba initially housed ten recent graduates from Edinburgh College of Art.

During our first year, we organised a series of exhibitions in temporary spaces around the city as well as with host venues further afield. Rhubaba has continued to develop our approach to public programming and moved to Leith in 2010 to accommodate more studios and a permanent gallery space. We are committed to generating a supportive workspace and a dynamic platform for local and international artists. Rhubaba aims to give early-career artists the opportunity to produce new work in a discursive environment, work collaboratively with other artist-led initiatives and explore wider debates in contemporary art, bringing exciting and challenging works to Scotland.

Rhubaba’s programme has included solo shows by Ed Atkins, Benedict Drew, Alan Currall, Serena Korda, Lucy Pawlak, James Clarkson and Hannah James; groups shows and events with works by Patrick Keiller, Julius Koller, Nathalie De-Briey, John Smith, Patrick Graf, Alex Gross and partnerships with Camden Art Centre, London; Tranzit.sk, Slovakia; David Dale Gallery and Studios, Glasgow; Central Reservation, Bristol; Filmhouse, Edinburgh; Duchy Gallery, Glasgow; Intercity Mainline, London; Lombard Method, Birmingham and Outpost Gallery, Norwich.

Rhubaba’s gallery and studio spaces closed in 2021 but we continue to run an online and in-person programme while supporting artist development. Rhubaba is run by a revolving Committee who are in turn supported by a Board of Trustees made up of creative professionals including artists, curators, educators and academics.

Committee Members

Neha Apsara, Jj Fadaka

Previous Committee Members

Jacob Hoffman, Joanne Lee, Natasha Thembiso Ruwona, Khadea Kuchenmeister, Freya Yeates, Reba Martin, Laura Tully, Lindsay Boyd, Camilla Irvine-Fortescue, Siobhan Scott, Anastasia Philimonos, Ben Callaghan, Katie Strachan, Elsbeth King, Timothea Armour, Mark Haddon, Faith Limbrick, Jenny Salmean, Anna Danielewicz, Lara MacLeod, Francesca Hawker, Tom Nolan, Peter Amoore, Siân Robinson-Davies, Catherine Payton, James Bell, Frances Stacey, Claire Davies, Hazel France and Rachel Adams.

Board of Trustees

Sophie Purchase (Chair and Placement Administrator at ENU), Peter Amoore (Curatorial Assistant, Cooper Gallery, DJCAD), Nicola Jeffs (Communications consultant and writer), Laura Guy (Lecturer, Newcastle University), Lisa Williams (Author, Poet and Founder of the Edinburgh Caribbean Association), Chloe Charlton (Artist), and Ann Pearce (Artist and Writer).

Past Trustees: Rosheen Murray (Treasurer and Development Manager, National Galleries of Scotland), Jennie Temple (Artist and Educator), Catherine Street (Artist), Iain Morrison (Enterprise Manager, Fruitmarket Gallery), Peter Taylor (Director, BFMAF), Chloe Reith (Curator, The Common Guild), Frances Stacey (Producer, Collective Gallery and co-founder of Rhubaba), Rabiya Choudhry (Artist), Julie-Ann Delaney (Curator, National Galleries), Kate Gray (Director, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art), Jonathan Owen (Artist), Fiona Mathison (Artist), Xana Marwick (Artist), Rachel Adams (Artist and co-founder of Rhubaba).

Rhubaba Gallery and Studios



Committee Research

website by Rodrigo Nava Ramírez


Make a one off regular donation to Rhubaba